Doin’ Things: Limited Colour Vinyl LP


Release date: 6 October, 2023

Vinyl LP


A first-time reissue of Doin’ Things by legendary singer Madeline Bell for Black Story Campaign 2023.

Dusty Springfield, The Rolling Stones, John Lennon, Elton John, Pink Floyd, Joe Cocker, Stevie Wonder, Rod Stewart, Donna Summer, and many more. What, or more precisely who do they all have in common? – the backing vocal skills of Madeline Bell…

Madeline Bell moved from the US to the UK after touring in Black Nativity, a travelling musical that toured all over America and Europe. She established herself as one of the most in-demand vocal session musicians, including for her friend Dusty Springfield, most notably on the album, Ev’rything’s Coming Up Dusty. What is less well known is that Dusty can also be heard on Madeline’s records. In 1968, six years after settling in England, an executive at Philips Records heard her working in a studio and offered her a contract. Madeline released three albums on Philips before she went onto become a chart regular as co-lead singer with Roger Cook of the group Blue Mink, (big hits include Melting Pot, Banner Man, Good Morning Freedom.)

Doin’ Things is Madeline’s 1969 album and showcases her vocal artistry. A mix of covers such as Step Inside Love and To Sir, With Love, are mixed with lesser-known tracks. For Your Pleasure was written by Georgie Fame as a B-side and Madeline’s interpretation is wistful and heart-breaking. Madeline appears on the composer credits for two tracks on the album collaborating with the legendary John Paul Jones – Gotta Get Away From Here and Ain’t Gonna Cry Any More. Four musical directors were also brought in for the Doin’ Things sessions – Arthur Greenslade, Keith Mansfield, Ian Green and Derek Wadsworth – each bringing a different take on the tracks featured. What that meant was Doin’ Things perfectly showcased Madeline’s incredible voice, versatility and artistry.

Madeline Bell - You may not have heard the name, but you have certainly heard the voice.


A1. Help Yourself
A2. After All Is Said And Done
A3. Doin' Things Together With You
A4. It's Up To You
A5. For Your Pleasure
A6. To Sir With Love
B1. Hold It
B2. Step Inside Love
B3. Gotta Get Away From Here
B4. No Sun Today
B5. Ain't Gonna Cry Any More
B6. Finding You, Loving You

["Madeline Bell"]